What do you care about?

Another short, but excellent post by Mike Cougill on the OST blog

What do trains help you to care about?

For what it’s worth, here’s my answer: trains help me remember times and events that are meaningful. Memories that I can only revisit in my mind.

Trains help me express a level of creativity in ways that other mediums don’t. Trains provide a theme and purpose for exploring what craftsmanship is to me and a way to view the work through an artistic lens rather than a technique or product driven one.

Trains help me understand that I have something to say and a distinct voice with which to say it.

You don’t have to understand, like or agree with any of this and I’m not on a crusade to convert anyone to my way of thinking. I’m gratified when others add to the conversation but I write about these things because I enjoy writing about them and, if I have anything to offer at all, it’s simply a different point of view.

So, ponder this week: what do trains help you care about? Maybe blog about it on your own or you’re welcome to comment here. Thanks for reading.

Regards,
Mike

Perhaps I’ve lost the creativity and craftsmanship that I was developing 40 years ago? Maybe it’s time to try and find it again!

 

About snitchthebudgie

Secretary of the East Surrey N Gauge railway club
This entry was posted in Hints and tips, Inspiration, Layout design and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

