Exhibitions, are they worth it?

Julias Modelopolis  (Julia makes marvellous 2mm fine scale models, with some 3-D printing thrown in for good measure) recently commented on taking your layout to an exhibition.  The money comments were…..

Browsing the interweb forums I always stumble across people critising layouts that are out and about at shows. The trend these days seems to be that people are almost demanding that layouts run faultessly and have a contunuous flow of trains passing by throughout their time in front of the layout as it’s their right to see this because they have paid to see it.

To me as a layout owner who occasionally takes it to shows it scares me rotten. It applies even more pressure to a situation which is quite stressful anyway. The thought of someone publishing critisism online about my layout because I didn’t run trains constanly or a wagon derailed makes me think is it worth all the effort. To get the layout to a show, set it all up, and try and keep things running throughout is not an easy thing to do.

I built the layout because I enjoy it (well, most of the time anyway!). If it gets invited to exhibitions then great (and it does!) but if what I read on some forums it the general mentality of exhibition attendees then I cannot see that its worth the effort. I wish I was thick skinned but I am not, should I need to be anyway for doing something I enjoy?

There were some good comments, too, including…..

Do those that criticise exhibit themselves? Or even build stuff? Are those that criticise to your face trying to make them selves feel good by putting down your efforts? Are those that do so online cowards who know that you’ll never knowingly meet the person making those comments so they can be rude from the safety of their living rooms?

As long as you’re happy with what you’ve created, does it really matter what other people think?

Don’t get stressed by the small minority of critics. They will be criticising everything (not just your efforts) and can be safely ignored.

I very much enjoy operating at shows you do get some rude idiots but you also get a lot of appreciative people. Life in general throws up rather more rude idiots so being at a show is fun for me. My favourite though are those who gaily talk have visit the station modelled and offering criticism when it is fictitious.

Don’t you just hate ’em??? I use the comment ‘I look forward to critiquing your next exhibition layout. When are you showing it??’

I hope that our ESNG show is generally free of such comments.  It does seem to be a ‘danger’ of modelling a prototype to fine scale that you open yourself up to criticism from so called experts.  However, I do recall my first N-gauge US module on display and two gentlemen complaining that my sidings didn’t have buffer stops.  I refrained from telling them that it was quite normal for rural sidings in the USA to run out to nothing and a pile of earth, as I had modelled.

About snitchthebudgie

Secretary of the East Surrey N Gauge railway club
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Layout design, Operation, Out and about and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exhibitions, are they worth it?

  1. Pingback: CAS Weekly 29/07/15 | Calling All Stations

Leave a Reply

