ESNG PlayDay – 13 March 2016

A fairly quiet PlayDay last Sunday afternoon.  Only five members present, until Allan and Ron arrived mid-afternoon, back from the Swiss Railway Society AGM in Derby.  However, we got a good circuit up and working, and had a pleasant afternoon running trains.  Dave was rivalling Paul for the longest goods train – but this one was American.

WP_20160313_15_17_09_Pro

My son Michael had asked me to test run his birthday present, a Dapol ‘London Transport’ Pannier tank.  These locos were the last standard gauge steam running outside of preserved lines, as they were around after the final BR steam runs in 1968.  I also ran in my new Dapol Terrier.  I couldn’t resist a blue, Kent & East Sussex Railway, one!  Both locos ran very well out of the box, with a little lubrication.

WP_20160313_15_13_53_Pro

WP_20160313_15_27_01_Pro

WP_20160313_15_27_41_Pro

Since the last meeting, I’d completed my fish train with a few insulated vans and three ‘Birds Eye’ container wagons.  My Farish 31 managed this train with ease.  The wagons are a bit of a mix for period, but the make an attractive train to run at a club night or show.  I think I need to weather them a bit, or at least paint that white roof grey!

WP_20160313_17_44_53_Pro WP_20160313_17_45_03_ProAnd of course the day ended with the inevitable curry….

About snitchthebudgie

Secretary of the East Surrey N Gauge railway club
This entry was posted in ESNG, ESNG meetings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

